Golf News for Friday, August 29, 2014 | Awards

Georgia's Ray Cutright heads 2014 PGA of America national award recipients as PGA Golf Professional of the Year

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- PGA Master Professional Ray Cutright, in his 21st season at Idle Hour Club in Macon, Georgia, has been named recipient of the 2014 PGA Golf Professional of the Year, the highest annual honor bestowed upon a PGA of America Professional.

Cutright, 63 and a resident of Macon, heads the 2014 PGA of America’s national awards class that will be honored in a ceremony, Thursday, Nov. 20, in conjunction with the 98th PGA Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

"The passion, talent and skill of this year’s national awards class reflects what all PGA Professionals strive to deliver on a daily basis in their respective facilities nationwide," said PGA President Ted Bishop. “Our award recipients are PGA Professionals who make a difference in people’s lives. We are proud that they are now the toast of our industry.”

Cutright is the 60th recipient of the PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award, and the third member of the Georgia PGA Section to receive this honor, following John Gerring (1981) and Ed Hoard (1999).

Other recipients of 2014 PGA of America Awards include:

• Kathy Gildersleeve-Jensen, of Colbert, Washington – PGA Teacher of the Year

• Tom Morton, of Sacramento, California – Youth Player Development Award

• Roger Wallace, of Polson, Montana – Bill Strausbaugh Award

• Pat Gavin, of Las Cruces, New Mexico – Horton Smith Award

• Ralph Landrum, of Crestview Hills, Kentucky – PGA Player Development Award

• Jim Dickerson, of Iowa City, Iowa – Patriot Award

• Southern California PGA Section – Herb Graffis Award

• Scott Nye, of Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania – PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Private Facilities

• George Ancuta, of Hackettstown, New Jersey – PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Public Facilities

• Ron Leporati, of Bedford, Pennsylvania – PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Resort Facilities

For information on the individual award winners, see

Jamie Carbone
PGA of America