Golf News for Monday, June 16, 2014 | Awards

Patrick Rodgers named winner of prestigious 2014 Haskins Award

COLUMBUS, Ga. -- Patrick Rodgers is the winner of the 2014 Haskins Award culminating a magical college career at Stanford that made him a three-time All-American and the winner of 11 individual championships, equaling a school record held by 1996 Haskins recipient Tiger Woods.

Rodgers, the Pac-12 player of the year, joins an illustrious list of past Haskins winners, an award that for 44 years has invited a player's peers to decide the winner of college golf's most coveted honor.

Presented by Stifel, the award is governed by the Fred Haskins Commission, a 501c(3) organization based in Columbus, Ga. It is named for a resident pro at the Country Club of Columbus who long ago learned to play the game at Hoylake, the site of the 2014 British Open.

The 2013 winner was Michael Kim of California so this is the second year in a row that the name of a Pac-12 golfer will be added to the historic trophy. The Cardinal golfer will be presented the award on July 1 at a special reception at the Greenbrier Resort in White Sulphur Springs, W. Va. Rodgers also receives an exemption to compete in the 2014 Greenbrier Classic, played on the Old White TPC, a legendary course that has been testing golfers since 1914.

"Patrick Rodgers is the best amateur golfer in the world and he certainly deserves a place in history," said J. Madden Hatcher, the chairman of the Fred Haskins Commission. "We are proud to honor him, his family and his university with an award that represents the principles, values and traditions of this wonderful game. His résumé speaks for itself and it helped him emerge from a very talented cadre of college golfers this year."

This year alone, the Indiana native finished first in the NCAA Regional Championships and the Pac-12 Championships along with the Erin Hills Intercollegiate; The Prestige at PGA West, the Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters and the Goodwin. He finished second in the Sagarin/Golfweek rankings and tied for 15th in the NCAA Championships behind Stanford teammate Cameron Wilson.

The sponsors of the Haskins Award are Stifel, a financial services company based in St. Louis, Mo.; Golfweek, a leader in college golf coverage; and the Greenbrier Classic, a stroke-play event that was added to the PGA Tour roster in 2010. Since 1970 the award has gone to that year's most outstanding male golfer as voted upon by players, coaches and members of the golf media.

Beginning this year, in partnership with legendary golfer Annika Sorenstam and the 3M Corporation, the Fred Haskins Commission will honor the top female college player with the ANNIKA AWARD. Details will be announced soon.

Rodgers joins an impressive group of Haskins' alumni that have won 28 majors and more than 260 professional tournaments around the world. Ben Crenshaw of Texas and Phil Mickelson of Arizona are the only three-time winners on a list that includes Tiger Woods of Stanford, Matt Kuchar of Georgia Tech, Luke Donald of Northwestern, Graeme McDowell of UAB and Russell Henley of the University of Georgia.

For more information, visit

Haskins Award Winners:
Ben Crenshaw, Texas 1971-72-73
Curtis Strange, Wake Forest 1974
Jay Haas, Wake Forest 1975
Phil Hancock, Florida 1976
Scott Simpson, Southern Cal, 1977
Lindy Miller, Oklahoma State 1978
Bobby Clampett, BYU 1979-80
Bob Tway, Oklahoma State 1981
Willie Wood, Oklahoma State 1982
Brad Faxon, Furman 1983
John Inman, North Carolina 1984
Sam Randolph, Southern Cal, 1985
Scott Verplank, Oklahoma State 1986
Billy Mayfair, Arizona State 1987
Bob Estes, Texas 1988
Robert Gamez, Arizona 1989
Phil Mickelson, Arizona State, 1990-91-92
David Duval, Georgia Tech 1993
Justin Leonard, Texas 1994
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech 1995
Tiger Woods, Stanford 1996
Brad Elder, Texas 1997
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech 1998
Luke Donald, Northwestern 1999
Charles Howell III, Oklahoma State 2000
Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech 2001
Graeme McDowell, UAB, 2002
Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State 2003
Bill Haas, Wake Forest 2004
Ryan Moore, UNLV 2005
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State 2006
Jamie Lovemark, Southern Cal 2007
Kevin Chappell, UCLA 2008
Matt Hill, N.C. State 2009
Russell Henley, Georgia 2010
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA 2011
Justin Thomas, Alabama 2012
Michael Kim, California 2013