Golf News for Thursday, March 20, 2014 | Awards

E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship named AJGA Tournament of the Year

BRASELTON, Ga. -- The American Junior Golf Association has presented the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf with the 2013 Tournament of the Year Award. This honor is given each year to the open tournament that provides the best overall experience.

Each year, the AJGA presents awards to the tournaments with the best individual hospitality, Junior-Am fundraising tournament, charitable giving and volunteer base. Awards are also given to the events with the highest media and social media participation. Finally, the AJGA recognizes the year's most outstanding golf professional, superintendent and general manager, as well as the most improved event, best new event, best Junior All-Star tournament, best Invitational and overall tournament of the year. Awards were presented at the J.R. "Digger" Smith Award Banquet in Braselton, Ga., on March 8.

The tournament committee at the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf takes pride in offering players a unique experience from beginning to end. When players arrive at Jones Creek Golf Club in Evans, Ga., they are provided a personalized locker. Throughout the week they can enjoy the players hospitality area stocked with water, snacks and a slushy machine.

"We love providing the young golfers with a look at what it may be like down the line, if they keep playing at the collegiate or professional level," said Jones Creek Golf Club General Manager Ray Mundy.

According to Mundy, the experience they were able to provide was because of the community involvement. A total of 160 volunteers of all ages came out throughout the week to aid in the overall feel of the event.

To add to the professional feel of the event, the tournament committee arranged to have a live online broadcast of the No. 1 tee. This allowed friends and family to watch as players were being announced and teeing off.

"One of the things we try to do is provide an atmosphere that players don't get to experience every week," said Tournament Chairman Dan Troutman. "That's part of what makes this event special."

Jones Creek Golf Club has hosted the E-Z-GO Vaughn Taylor Championship presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf for three consecutive years, and will welcome the event again in 2014 from July 14-17.

About the American Junior Golf Association
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of more than 6,000 members from all 50 states and more than 45 foreign countries. To ensure scholarship opportunities for all junior golfers who have the skill, the AJGA created the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program to provide financial assistance to young players in need.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 500 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Jordan Spieth, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Stacy Lewis, Vicky Hurst, Inbee Park, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome and Morgan Pressel.

For more information, please contact Chris Ceman ( in the AJGA Communications Department at (678) 425-1787, or visit