Golf News for Wednesday, October 9, 2013 | People

24 earn inclusion on 2013 HP Scholastic Junior All-America Team

BRASELTON, Ga. -- Twenty-four of the nation's brightest minds and best junior golfers were named to the 2013 HP Scholastic Junior All-America Team, the American Junior Golf Association and HP announced Friday, Oct. 4. Sponsored by HP since 1988, the team consists of 12 young men and 12 young women who demonstrate the ability to excel both on the golf course and in the classroom.

To be eligible to apply for the HP Scholastic Junior All-America Team, boys must have placed in the top 10 of an AJGA Open or Invitational, while girls needed a top-five finish. The selections were then based on grade point average, class rank, SAT/ACT/PLAN/PSAT scores, community service and writing ability. Candidates were required to submit an essay no longer than 500 words on an original topic relating to golf.

"HP is once again proud to recognize outstanding academic, athletic, and community service achievements with the naming of the 2013 HP Scholastic Junior All-America Team," said John Dayan, Vice President, Technology Services Group, Hewlett-Packard. "The AJGA, working closely with parents and players alike, strives to prepare these young adults for life in college and beyond, by instilling honor, integrity, persistence and sportsmanship. HP and the AJGA are celebrating 25 years of support for this award and recognition of excellence."

The 12 boys on the HP Scholastic Junior All-America team are Franklin Huang of Poway, Calif. (2014), Andrew McKinney of Danville, Ky. (2014), Mitchell Meissner of San Antonio (2014), Jackson Moss of New Albany, Ohio (2014), William Register of Burlington, N.C. (2014), Sam Rosenberg of Dallas (2014), Michael Sharp of Kendallville, Ind. (2014), Corey Shaun of Encinitas, Calif. (2014), Nathan Tenpas of Chevy Chase, Md. (2014), Carter Thompson of Tallahassee, Fla. (2014), Jens Verhey of Reno, Nev. (2014), and Jackson Wendling of Effingham, Ill. (2015)

The 12 girls on the HP Scholastic Junior All-America team are Alexandra Farnsworth of Nashville, Tenn. (2014), Madison Glennie of Clearwater, Fla. (2014), Alexandra Harkins of Crystal Lake, Ill. (2014), Tatum Jackson of Mountain Brook, Ala. (2014), Sabrina Long of Alpharetta, Ga. (2015), Julie Luo of Centreville, Va. (2015), Emily Mills of Farmingdale, N.J. (2014), Shawn Rennegarbe of Addieville, Ill. (2014), Jayshree Sarathy of Palo Alto, Calif. (2014), Michelle Xie of Palo Alto, Calif. (2015), Nancy Xu of Sunnyvale, Calif. (2014), and Anna Zhou of Palo Alto, Calif. (2015)

These outstanding individuals will be honored at the Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet, Nov. 24, at PGA National Resort & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. By being named to this team, each player is also eligible to participate in the Polo Golf Junior Classic, one of the most prestigious events in junior golf, which will take place on PGA National Resort & Spa's Champion and Fazio Courses, Nov. 23-29.

Former HP Scholastic Junior All-Americans have gone on to successful amateur and professional golf careers, including Casey Martin (1989), Wendy Ward (1990), Kellee Booth (1992), Matt Kuchar (1994), Scott Langley (2005) and Patrick Rodgers (2009, 2010).

The HP Scholastic Honor Roll recognizes those juniors who have achieved a weighted GPA of 3.5 or higher, but who were not selected as HP Scholastic All-Americans. For a complete 2013 Honor Roll list click here.

For more information, please contact Abby Liebenthal ( in the AJGA Communications Department at (678) 425-1786, or visit

About the American Junior Golf Association
The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 6,000 junior golfers from 49 states and more than 50 countries. To ensure scholarship opportunities for all junior golfers who have the skill, the AJGA created the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program to provide financial assistance to young players in need.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its fourth decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 500 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Stacy Lewis, Vicky Hurst, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome and Morgan Pressel.