Golf News for Thursday, November 8, 2012 | Tournaments

11th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride prepares to tee off

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- Reigning Champion North Carolina State University, of Raleigh, N.C., will bid for a second-consecutive title, Nov. 13-14, in the 11th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride at PGA Golf Club, in Port St. Lucie, Fla. The 36-hole tournament will feature the top five players from all 20 PGA Golf Management University programs nationwide.

All participating universities in the PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride are schools accredited by The PGA of America to offer the four-and-one half to five-year PGA Golf Management University Program for aspiring PGA Professionals. The college curriculum provides extensive classroom studies, internship experience and player development, and provides students the opportunity to acquire knowledge and skills to succeed in the golf industry as a PGA Professional.

"We are delighted to host the PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride at PGA Golf Club for the fifth-consecutive year and to showcase some of the finest playing future PGA members who major in the PGA Golf Management University Program at schools across the country," said PGA President Allen Wronowski. "The Jones Cup maintains a tradition in the pursuit of excellence, while promoting both an educational and competitive spirit."

The Wolfpack return three players from its 2011 squad, which won the PGA Jones Cup by six strokes over the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Steered by PGA Golf Management Director Dr. Robb Wade on campus and Internship Coordinator Andy Betz as on-site coach once again this year, the Wolfpack are excited about the challenge the team faces next week.

"The quality of team we are sending down has increasingly gotten better over the past several years," said Dr. Wade. "To win it all, luck has something to do with it. You need a lucky bounce. The best thing is last year all five guys contributed. And in order to repeat, you need four to five guys playing well both days, which is hard to do with the windy conditions you will see at PGA Golf Club this time of year."

After N.C. State was crowned Champion last year, the team brought out the Jones Cup trophy to center court during halftime of a Wolfpack basketball game attended by approximately 16,000 fans. "I am sure that is something they will remember for the rest of their lives," said Dr. Wade.

The PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride is named for the first PGA Golf Management University Program Director at Mississippi State, Dr. S. Roland Jones, who held the position from 1985 until his passing in 1997. The event provides a platform where participants can display professionalism, integrity, character and camaraderie; all characteristics Dr. Jones instilled in PGA Golf Management students. Students in the PGA Golf Management University Program study a combination of golf and business-related subjects; serve a minimum of 16 months in on-course internships within the golf industry; and are eligible for direct election to PGA membership upon graduation and eligible employment.

11th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride field

Arizona State University
Campbell University
Clemson University
Coastal Carolina University
Eastern Kentucky University
Ferris State University
Florida Gulf Coast University
Florida State University
Methodist University
Mississippi State University
New Mexico State University
North Carolina State University
Penn State University
Sam Houston State University
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
University of Idaho
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
University of Nebraska
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Past PGA Jones Cup Champions:

2011 N.C. State University
2010 Mississippi State University
2009 Campbell University
2008 University of Idaho
2007 Campbell University
2006 New Mexico State University
2005 Coastal Carolina University
2004 Coastal Carolina University
2003 Mississippi State University
2002 Mississippi State University

About The PGA of America
Since its founding in 1916, The PGA of America has maintained a twofold mission: to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf. By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, The PGA enables its Professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in the multi-billion-dollar golf industry. By creating and delivering world-class championships and innovative programs, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. As The PGA nears its centennial, the PGA brand represents the very best in golf.