How Harrington used course management to top Norman at the British Open, Michelle Wie DQ, take the first step to winning and how to choose your first driver
Click here to listen.
Padraig Harrington came out the victor this week at the British Open, the third major winner of the year with an injury to do so, hiding under the radar of many who thought he could not win back-to-back major tournaments. Harrington concentrated his efforts on course management and the short game to overtake an unlikely favorite of the over-fifty set, namely Greg Norman, whose “foot-on-the-pedal” mentality cost him yet another win.
It’s a shame, though, that in 2007, Harrington thought so little of the Claret Jug he fought so hard to win he used it instead as a fill for swill! We hope that Harrington didn’t do this again this year!
This week Golf for Beginners internet broadcast discusses the mental clarity and forethought it takes to make it to the final round and persevere under treacherous conditions. Chris Wood found little pressure in his “surreal” situation and easily made his way to the 18th hole with a forward focus. Others like Phil Mickelson, always the optimist, may have stated that he hit the ball well but it was evident he was clearly disappointed as he had spent the prior week at the Scottish Open finding similar results. Perhaps the pressure of having to take Tiger Woods’ place on the leaderboard made him falter?
Choosing your first driver without ever having hit one can be harrowing. We tell you what to look for in a driver and how to make the process easier!
I had my first competitive round with the ladies of the EWGA at Doral Arrowwood this past week and my play was far from pretty! Find out how I intend to take the three steps from playing to competing and finally to winning!
Finally, how many DQ’s, withdrawals and mistakes will be had before Michelle Wie reads the Rules of Golf?
Wie stepped outside of the scoring area after round two and a volunteer had to call her back into the tent for the infraction of one of the basic rules of golf…that is, she didn’t sign her scorecard! Michelle knew that she forgot but felt that this was yet another time she could get off the hook with a shrug and a “sorry” claiming, “I thought it would be okay. It was an honest mistake.”
Her third round, which placed her squarely in contention for a Sunday showdown did not count. Perhaps Wie should have listened to our previous podcast where we discuss some of the most basic and overlooked regulations of the sport.
Wie was disqualified. Unfortunately, it cost the LPGA a Sunday of high ratings and Michelle Wie her possible first win on the Tour.
Michelle choked back tears looking for pity and said, “I don’t know what happened to me.”
Should this rule have been overturned just this once for the benefit of the sport?
Of course, once one of the Rules of Golf is slackened, it is only a matter of time before others follow suit. In our opinion, the Rules should be followed to the letter until a rule is changed for everyone. It isn’t the first time something like this has occured and it surely won’t be the last time.
It is an unfortunate incident for Wie but I’ll bet she will never make this mistake again. Penalties will surely occur due to a lack of concentration…
Send your golf questions and comments to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Subscribe to our weekly podcast through this RSS feed: http://feeds.worldgolf.com/stacy_solomon or through iTunes. Nextel/Sprint cell customers type http://www.mymbn.com/podcast/ in your browser and click on “sports casts". Our station number is 1955.
This podcast is supported by GolfCanadasWest.com 877-323-3633.
Choking back tears looking for pity?
Jeez, you get lamer and lamer.
Reporting a news item is one thing but being totaly mean spirited about it is like.... Sue Witters gloating about her gotcha a day late. Or Bamberger demanding a drop be measured. or... well, you could be another Gwen Knapp but I doubt that you are even that talented
As for Wie, I guess I'm just getting tired of hearing continuous excuses as she still enjoys multimillion dollar endorsement contracts and sponsor's exemptions.
I'm not jealous in case that's what you're thinking, I just believe it's time she got her act together. After all, the future of the LPGA is on her shoulders.
Golf: Olazabal wins B & H as Harrington disqualified at Belfry
Sunday, 14 May 2000 19:46
Overnight leader Padraig Harrington was dramatically disqualified from the Benson and Hedges International Open before his final round at The Belfry today for forgetting to sign his scorecard on Thursday. The news was only announced half an hour before Harrington was due to tee off.
He had been five strokes clear of Spains Jose Maria Olazabal and Welshman Phil Price, but they were left as joint leaders, four ahead of the 19-year-old Australian amateur Adam Scott. Olazabal's second successive 66, highlighted by an eagle on the long 17th, gave the the 1990 champion his first victory since the US Masters 13 months ago. He held off the challenge of Welshman Phil Price to win by three with a 13 under par total of 275. Nobody else was in the hunt, Scot Andrew Coltart and Argentina's Jose Coceres sharing third place five strokes further back.
Harrington's disqualification meant that he missed out on going to a highest-ever world ranking of around 25th and on going third in the European Order of Merit.
Harrington said: "Obviously this is not how the day was meant to turn out. It's not exactly like I did something wrong, but you live by the rules. I'm always the last to leave the recorders area - I assume it's my accountancy training. I check my card four, five or six times. But this time I was sitting on the end of the table and Jamie Spence had my card at the other end. He passed it across and Michael Campbell in the middle must have signed it and then realised it was not his. I must have then gone through all the figures, but only glanced at the two signatures."
First prize was £166,600 and it would have lifted Harrington to third in the European Order of Merit and to his highest-ever position on the world rankings - around 25th.
As Harrington said, "you live by the rules". I'll bet Padraig is very careful every time he signs his scorecard. Hopefully, Michelle Wie learned from this careless error too.
We all had better watch ourselves.
Putt4par is back! And like Willard, he may not be alone!
He has given notice that he has inside information that the internet thought police will soon proscribe anonimity on these sites.
Be afraid! Be very afraid!
Alex USMC 1969-73
As far as Michelle is concerned, i'd be willing to bet she won't make that mistake again. No guarentees though for other errors. Unlike Alex, I don't see a case of deceit in every move MW makes. I'm not even sure it's a case of immaturity. She makes a good case for ditzy though. All apologies to the blondes of the world, but MW fits the profile.
If it's there to be made, I'm sure she will make it.
Actually, Michelle's true career is to be an engineer in Tokyo since she is studying calculus and Japanese at Stanford. It seems that Michelle has no problem adding up her score but can not remember to sign her card.
To New Zealand Golfer, I suffer from the same course management issues and it costs me strokes every round.
Professional and Official people employed by the LPGA not volunteers, should have been manning-womaning? those premises. I find it laughable that the "Committe" was being represnted by volunteers with obviously no better knowledge of the rules than MW.
Here is the letter she sent to everyone but the blogosphere.
I found it rather humorous.
Aside from all the rhetoric that is printed here ( and other places), the LPGA just plain looked foolish for all the blunders that happened before they decideded to DQ Wie.
I figure that if they didn't catch the booboo before tee time the next morning, it should no longer be an issue. The PGA never would have even let on that they screwed up. It would just be business as usualy the following day, and far more favorable publicity for them.
Comments are closed for this post.