« Richie Ramsey enjoys U.S. Amateur triumph; drug testing in golf the hot topic; China teaches golfMacKenzie wins at Reno; Robertson scores first tour victory since '99; PGA National Resort to get $25 million upgrade »

6 comments

Comment from: Ghet Rheel [Visitor]
Bamberger knows the news biz. Bamberger knew he could create a news "event" if he could get Wie DQ'd. Bamberger was bringing his new book to market at the same time as made his "loving gesture toward the Sanctity of the Rules of Golf". What nonsense.

He could have walked up to any rules official on the course within minutes - they all have walkie-talkies. Instead, he made a calculated and opportunistic choice to capitalize on the issue to aid in the sale of his new book. He made a stupid and greedy choice that he'll rightly be paying for with his credibility as a journalist, for years to come. What goes around comes around.
08/28/06 @ 23:36
Comment from: Bill [Visitor]
Ghet...

We're on the same side on this one. Although I am tired of the I didn't know thqt was a rule that should have bene learned in junior golf, Bamburger was up there in my eyes with his Green Road Home.

The LPGA should have told him to mind his business, and go write a book and leave the rulings to them.

Want to create controversy, how about Tiger's on Firday. Where the ball was found, not where it went over the obstruction. Laser that found equdistant yardage to the flag, would have not been 83 yards.

Stewart Cink was screwed... Stroke and distance from where he would have had to re-drop, minimum of a 6. Cink wins...

BUT...

1. PGA Tour screwed up three times, once by not marking the course with ob.
2. Also without not putting something on the rules sheet about on course out of bounds.
3. Did not enforce the 5 minute search for a lost ball. When Tiger reached the clubhouse, after being pointed out where the ball actually went, he had 5 to find it or lost. Should have had Stevie up on the roof and looking beyond. Tiger brillialtly used the rules to his advantage, by not asking about when his 5 minutes started. He simply played dumb by not asking...his on camera "what is the ruling" brilliantly took care of it?

Hope is Spitty is reading this, if so he notices I used the word "Brilliant" and "Tiger" in the smat paragraph...

Then again, the Tour is smart by not biting the hand that is feeding them...
08/29/06 @ 12:43
Comment from: Bill [Visitor]
Excuse the tyypos, quickly written from behind my golf shop counter...

Bill
08/29/06 @ 12:45
Comment from: benvenuto [Visitor]
Michelle Wie disqualified herself by making an illegal drop one which gave her not only a slight distance advantage, but also the huge benifit of clearing her backswing from a bush and then signing an incorrect scorecard. Bamberger did not disqualify her.

08/30/06 @ 17:43
Comment from: Jim C [Visitor]
Michelle Wie did not get a huge benefit compared to the two stroke penalty that would have been enforced. If he had notified officials immediately, Michelle would have been notified before signing her card and would have gotten a 2 stroke penalty, which certainly would have been far in excess of any advantage she received.

Are we to suppose that if Bamberger had been on the telecast for the US Womens Open he would have said nothing about the Jeong Jang double hit until after she signed her 3rd round card, and then gone back to comment on it later so as not to help the player sign a correct card?


09/01/06 @ 11:43
Comment from: brad bank [Visitor]
Anyone who studies the tapes can see she gained a clear advantage from the drop. Bamberger's timing was poor, his motivations cant be inferred and it is ridiculous to blame him for what happened. Wie and her caddie had control of the situation and botched it. Lesson learned and she may be better off in the long run for a relatively inexpensive lesson early in her career. Time to move on.
09/07/06 @ 21:18

Comments are closed for this post.